Nacional Records Announces Release Of Voto Latino Benefit Album

Nacional Records announced the upcoming release of a Voto Latino benefit album on April 15th exclusively through iTunes. The track-listing features 15 songs for only $3.99 and features such artists as Don Omar, Aterciopelados, Aventura, David Garza, and Ozomatli.

The album also includes a previously-unreleased track by Miami-based hip-hop hero Pitbull entitled “Across The Waters.” The emotionally charged song documents the plight of Cuban immigrants and has been the subject of a National Public Radio segment.

“To me it’s great to have a record like Across the Waters involved with Voto Latino/iTunes because it represents everything we stand for, which is the struggle for freedom and opportunity,” says Pitbull.

“Music is the soundtrack to my life. The Voto Latino compilation is the soundtrack of a movement,” says Voto Latino co-founder Rosario Dawson (pictured), who recently starred in a widely circulated telenovela parody PSA with Wilmer Valderrama. “It encapsulates everything about the Latino drive to the polls so blast it on your way to change.”

“Music has proven to be an influential platform for our generation. This is the time to use it,” adds Valderrama.

“Voto Latino is thrilled about the generous contribution of iTunes Latino, Nacional Records and these participating artists,” said Maria Teresa Petersen, Executive Director. “Having such talented individuals working across professions and sharing their expertise, be it musicians or behind the scenes executives, is a testament that the power to enfranchise our community comes from within it.”

Founded in 2004, Voto Latino is a non-partisan organization that works to promote an enfranchised America by leveraging celebrity voices, the latest technology and the country’s youth to promote positive change and voter empowerment throughout the Latino community. With digital and traditional media campaigns throughout the year, Voto Latino will target the 7 million American Latino voters aged 18-29, or 18% of the youth vote, leading up to the 2008 general elections. The album will be released one week prior to the highly-contested Pennsylvania primary election, considered to be a potential turning point in this competitive election season. Nacional Records and iTunes are both donating their proceeds from the benefit album to Voto Latino’s voter registration, education and empowerment initiatives.

Track Listing
1. Notch – Aquí Me Quedo
2. Pitbull & Kurse – Across The Waters (PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED)
3. Ozomatli – (Who Discovered) America?
4. Don Omar – Angelito
5. Los Amigos Invisibles – All Day Today
6. Salvador Santana Band – My One True Love
7. Ceu – Roda (Bombay Dub Orchestra’s Grateful Dub Mix)
8. Aterciopelados – Cancion Protesta
9. Aventura – Mi Corazoncito
10. Chingo Bling – They Can’t Deport Us All
11. Ceci Bastida – Empieza A Amanecer
12. David Garza – There Go The Weirdos
13. Volumen Cero – El Mar
14. B-Side Players – Nuestras Demandas
15. Hip Hop Hoodíos – Viva La Guantanamera