Print this Page

World News

9th Annual Latin Grammy Awards Nominations Announced
Published September 11, 2008

The 9th Annual Latin Grammy Awards nominations were announced yesterday. Artists nominated include Café Tacvba, Juanes and Gustavo Santaolalla, Andrés Calamaro, Kany García, and Julieta Venegas.

In a year that recognized an array of artists and creative professionals across numerous styles, the nominations celebrate and spotlight a unique mix of established and emerging artists. The 9th Annual Latin Grammy Awards, set for Nov.13 at Toyota Center in Houston, will be broadcast live on the Univision Network from 8 – 11 p.m. ET/PT (7 p.m. Central).


Café Tacvba leads the nominations with six, while Juanes and Gustavo Santaolalla garnered five nods each. Andrés Calamaro, Kany García and Julieta Venegas each received four nominations. 2008 Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year Gloria Estefan, Victor Manuelle, Soraya Moraes, Ximena Sariñana, and Joan Sebastian are among those who earned three nods apiece. And a contingent of long-established artists and emerging music makers — including Pepe Aguilar, Maria Bethânia, Andrea Bocelli, Tego Calderón, Daddy Yankee, Plácido Domingo, Jose Feliciano, Vicente Fernández, Flex, Gilberto Gil, Alejandra Guzmán, Los Tigres Del Norte, Gian Marco, Manu Chao, Sergio Mendes, Molotov, Ednita Nazario, Laura Pausini, Maria Rita, Olga Tañón, Tito El Bambino, Caetano Veloso, and Wisin y Yandel — each earned nominations.


"In its ninth year, the Latin Grammy nominations continue to reflect a diverse and eclectic worldwide Latin music community of well-respected artists while bringing fresh new acts and trends to the forefront," said Gabriel Abaroa, President of The Latin Recording Academy. "With more than 5,000 entries this year, it's encouraging to see so many music makers and professionals participate in the awards process, and to see so many albums, songs, and creators getting due recognition from peers. The world will be watching on Nov. 13, and there will be much to celebrate."


This year's Album Of The Year category features established superstars as well as rising new talent: Spain's Buika for Niña De Fuego, Mexico's Café Tacvba for Sino, Vicente Fernández for Para Siempre, Puerto Rico's Kany García for Cualquier Día, and Colombia's Juanes for La Vida…Es Un Ratico. A similar diversity can be seen in the Best MPB (Musica Popular Brasileira) Album category: Maria Bethânia for Dentro Do Mar Tem Rio — Ao Vivo, Chico Buarque for Chico Buarque Carioca — Ao Vivo, Seu Jorge for América Brasil O Disco, Omara Portuondo e Maria Bethânia for Omara Portuondo e Maria Bethânia, Roberta Sá for Que Belo Estranho Dia Pra Se Ter Alegria, and Caetano Veloso for Multishow Ao Vivo Cê.


Café Tacvba's six nominations include: Album<