Print this Page

World News

Reggae Legends Black Uhuru Set To Release Live In London DVD August 19th
Published August 7, 2008

Black Uhuru was the first reggae group to win a grammy award, for their influential release Anthem in 1984. New DVD is a special 25th anniversary digitally-remastered edition.

Black Uhuru will release the 25th Anniversary Edition of their classic Live in London DVD on August 19th. The movie captures the groundbreaking group at the top of their game, with core members Derrick "Duckie" Simpson, Mikel Rose, and Sandra "Puma" Jones backed by the drum and bass greats, Sly & Robbie. Highlights include roots reggae anthems like "Shine Eye Gal," "I Love King Selassie" and "Happiness." The new digitally-remastered DVD edition features a never-before-seen photo gallery of stills spanning the group's entire 40 year career.


With the death of reggae king Bob Marley in 1981, some thought that reggae music had passed with him. However that assumption became short lived when Black Uhuru released the album Red later that year. The triple platinum release was named the 23rd best album of the decade by Rolling Stone. Considered a potent live act by critics and fans alike, Black Uhuru has toured with international music icons including The Clash, Rolling Stones, Bruce Springsteen, The Police, and U2. The group is currently at work on a new studio album. DVD viewing parties are planned nationwide, beginning August 20th at the Echoplex's Dub Club Party in Los Angeles and hosted by reggae guru Native Wayne of Indie 103.1FM.


Live In London Track Listing:


1. Shine Eye Girl

2. Plastic Smile

3. Puff She Puff

4. I Love King Selassie   

5. Youth of Eglington

6. Push Push

7. General Penitentiary

8. Happiness

9. Whole World Is Africa    
10. Sponji Reggae

11. Sinsemilla