Print this Page

World News

Elvin Bishop's New All-Star Album Set For Release
Published June 20, 2008

Elvin Bishop’s new album, The Blues Rolls On is due out September 23 and features a series of great music legends.

Elvin Bishop, the founding member of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band has completed work on The Blues Rolls On. Due September 23 on Delta Groove/ Eclecto Groove Music, the album pays tribute to the musicians who helped give him his start. The likes of B. B. King, Warren Haynes, Derek Trucks, George Thorogood, James Cotton, Kim Wilson, Tommy Castro, John Nemeth, Ronnie Baker Brooks, and Angela Strehli make an appearance on the record, with Bishop handling the majority of the vocals.


In this new effort, Bishop revisits his own '70s solo hit "Struttin' My Stuff" with Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks, Junior Wells' "Come On In This House," and the Butterfield Band's "Yonders Wall" and Hound Dog Taylor's "Send You Back To Georgia." He also contributes the autobiographical boogie "Oklahoma," played solo electric.


Bishop has recorded three groundbreaking albums with the Paul Butterfield Blues Band and has since then launched a solo career. He has performed on recordings by John Lee Hooker, Bo Diddley, and The Allman Brothers Band, among many others.