Print this Page

World News

Rounder Records To Release New Tony Rice Compilation
Published June 17, 2008

Night Flyer: The Singer-Songwriter Collection by Tony Rice is set for release this August.      

Tony Rice’s new Rounder compilation, Night Flyer: The Singer-Songwriter Collection, due August 5, contains a broad selection of the music icon’s engaging vocal tunes taken from several of his albums – as well as three previously unreleased tracks – and demonstrates the wide range of non-bluegrass material that he incorporated into his signature sound.


This latest effort contains the previously unreleased Rice original “Never Meant to Be,” written in the aftermath of the breakup of a long-term marriage. In addition, a version of Gordon Lightfoot’s “Changes” is found here, and opens with a sublime guitar intro, with perfect counterpoint by the Dobro of Jerry Douglas.  Also included in this collection are Joni Mitchell’s “Urge for Going,” James Taylor’s “Me and My Guitar,” John Mayall’s “Nightflyer,” Bob Dylan’s “Sweetheart Like You,” and Tom Waits’ “Pony.” 


Rice has inspired guitarists far and wide for decades, as both a peerless lead player and the quintessential rhythm player.  His inventive approach encompasses many acoustic music genres in addition to bluegrass, including jazz, blues, classical, folk, and swing, as is evident in his numerous solo and collaborative recordings.  Twice nominated for a Grammy Award, he won for Best Country Instrumental Performance in 1983 as a member of The New South.