Print this Page

World News

World Music Institute Announces National Heritage Masters Series
Published August 30, 2007

The WMI will celebrate The National Heritage Fellowships’ 25th anniversary with a 14-part concert series October 13 to
May 31.

The National Heritage Fellowships, this country’s highest honor in the traditional arts, was instituted by the National Endowment for the Arts in 1982. In celebration of its 25th anniversary, World Music Institute will present a 14-part concert series with more than 40 artists who have received this prestigious award. These programs provide a showcase to the rich and diverse musical and dance traditions that make up America’s cultural heritage.

Each year, ten to thirteen individuals, “national living treasures” from across the nation, are chosen to receive this one-time-only fellowship in recognition of lifetime achievement, artistic excellence and contributions to our nation’s cultural heritage. To date, 327 master artists have been honored.

The series will show as follows:

Sat Oct 13 - SS - A World of Fiddles
Kevin Burke (Ireland), Joseph Cormier (Cape Breton), Paul Dahlin (Sweden) Johnny Gimble (Western Swing), Simon Shaheen (Middle East)

Sat Oct 27 - TH - Appalachian Journey
Ralph Stanley & The Clinch Mountain Boys, Hazel Dickens, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Wed Nov 7 - LNT - Piedmont String Band Music
Carolina Chocolate Drops with Joe Thompson

Fri Nov 30 - SC - Ireland in America
Mick Moloney, Liz Carroll & John Doyle, Joe Derrane, Donny Golden Dancers

Sat Dec 1 - SC - From Cairo to Bukhara
Simon Shaheen & the Near Eastern Music Ensemble, Nadeem Dlaikan, Richard Hagopian, Fatima Kuinova & Shashmaqam

Sat Jan 19 - SS - Kevin Locke Native Dance Ensemble

Fri Jan 25 - CC - Gospel Caravan
Dixie Hummingbirds, Chuck Campbell, McIntosh County Shouters, others

Sat Mar 8 - SS - Cajun Jamboree
Savoy-Doucet Cajun Band, D. L. Menard, others

Sat Mar 15 - TH - Blues Legends
Koko Taylor, David “Honeyboy” Edwards, Henry Gray, John Cephas & Phil Wiggins

Sat Mar 29 - TH - Africa in America
Obo Addy, Francisco Aguabella, Joao Grande, Frisner Augustin

Fri Apr 11 - SS - Fiesta Mexicana
Mariachi Los Camperos de Nati Cano, Jose Gutierrez y Los Hermanos Ochoa, Santiago Jimenez

Sat Apr 26 - TH - Zakir Hussain’s Masters of Percussion

Fri May 2 - SC - Qi Shu Fang Peking Opera

Sat May 31 - SS - Southeast Asian Journey
Apsara Ensemble & Chum Ngek, Danongan Kalanduyan, Boua Xou Mua, Phong Nguyen

CC= New York City Center
LNT= Leonard Nimoy Thalia at Symphony Space
SC=NYU Skirball Center
SS=Peter Norton Symphony Space
TH=Town Hall

All programs begin at 8PM, except for Piedmont String Band Music on Nov 7, which begins at 8:30.

Programs subject to change.