Print this Page

World News

Ryuichi Sakamoto forms Hasymo, nominated for 2007 EMMA Award
Published August 1, 2007

The acclaimed Japanese musician, composer, producer and actor joins with the original members of his previous groups, Yellow Magic Orchestra and Human Audio Sponge, to start new band.

Acclaimed Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto has formed HASYMO with the original members of his previous projects, Human Audio Sponge (HAS) and Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO). More than just a melding of their previous incarnations, HASYMO have developed a new sound that transcends the two groups.

The first single from the group, “Rescue,” written for the film Appleseed: Ex Machina, will be released on August 22nd by the commmons/Avex label. Produced by John Woo, Appleseed: Ex Machina, is more of a new beginning than a direct sequel to the wildly successful animated feature Appleseed. Once again directed by Shinji Aramaki, Appleseed: Ex Machina will feature original designs by Miuccia Prada and Music Supervision by Haruomi Hosono.

Fennesz + Sakamoto's release cendre has recently been nominated for a 2007 EMMA Award in the Best World Music category. Other EMMA (Ethnic Multicultural Media Awards) music nominees include: Rihanna, Norah Jones, Beyonce, Kanye West, Alejandro Sanz, Corinne Bailey Rae, Joss Stone, and more. John Lennon will be recognized with a Legend award, and the Lifetime Achievement recognition goes to Oprah. The EMMA award is a televised, feature length, humanitarian media award. EMMA celebrates the very best in diversity, media and cultural excellence.

The Academy Award-winning and Grammy-winning Sakamato has also joined the 2007 Cartier LOVECHARITY project by selecting a green silk band to accompany his LOVE bracelet. A portion of the proceeds from sales of Sakamoto's green-banded LOVE bracelet will benefit the Jane Goodall Institute Japan ( The Cartier LOVE bracelet was introduced more than 30 years ago, and has risen to be one of the most coveted jewelry designs in the world. Other celebrity ambassadors include Faith Hill, Usher and Julianne Moore.