Print this Page

World News

Trojan/Sanctuary Records To Release Jonny Greenwood Reggae Compilation In March 2007
Published January 9, 2007

Jonny Greenwood is the Controller will be released March 6, 2007.

Radiohead's lead guitarist, Jonny Greenwood, indulges his passion for reggae music by compiling his favorite tracks onto one album, Jonny Greenwood is the Controller. Coming out on March 6th, 2007, this one of a kind collection digs deep into rich Jamaican sounds and styles covering soul, roots and dub.

As a fervent fan of reggae music, Greenwood collaborated with Trojan Records to pull recordings from the extensive legendary catalog. After six months of endless listening, he narrowed down his choices to 17 crucial tracks of essential reggae listening. The set features renowned vocalists, musicians and producers including Desmond Dekker, Lee Perry, Gregory Isaccs, Sly & Robbie, King Tubby, Scientist, and many others.

As a member of one of the most popular bands to emerge from England in the past 15 years, Jonny Greenwood has evolved musically during Radiohead's heralded career. After three Radiohead albums of solid rock guitar playing, Greenwood progressed into the world of electronica on the band's ground breaking ambient albums of Kid A and Amnesiac. Named as one of "The 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time" by Rolling Stone, Greenwood's work demonstrates and proves him to be one of the more creative and profound forces in contemporary music.

This set is the latest in Trojan's artist choice jukebox series which includes collections from DJ Spooky and Don Letts, and the upcoming March 20 release from Lee Perry. 2007 marks the 40th anniversary of Trojan Records.

Jonny Greenwood is the Controller:

1. Dread Are The Controller - Linval Thompson
2. Let Me Down Easy - Derrick Harriot
3. I'm Still In Love - Marcia Aitken
4. Never Be Ungrateful - Gregory Isaacs
5. Bionic Rats - Lee 'Scratch' Perry
6. Cool Rasta - The Heptones
7. Flash Gordon Meets Luke Skywalker - Scientist & Jammy & The Roots Radics
8. Black Panta - Lee 'Scratch' Perry & The Upsetters
9. Fever - Junior Byles
10. Beautiful and Dangerous - Desmond Dekker & The Aces
11. Dread Dub (It Dead Out Deh Version) - Lloyd's All Stars
12. Gypsy Man - Marcia Griffiths
13. A Ruffer Version - Johnny Clarke & The Aggrovators
14. Right Road to Dubland (Right Road to Zion Dub) - The Jahlights
15. Deader Locks - Junior Byles & Lee Perry
16. This Life Makes Me Wonder - Delroy Wilson
17. Clean Race - Scotty