Print this Page

World News

Link Wray

8th Annual Native American Music Award (NAMMYs) Winners Announced
Published June 9, 2006

Keith Secola is named Artist of the Year. Silverbird is the Debut Artist of the Year. Tiger Tiger given Lifetime Achievement award and Link Wray is named to the Hall of Fame.

The Eighth Annual Native American Award (NAMMY) winners were announced on June 8. The winners are:

Artist of the Year
Keith Secola
"Native Americana"

Best Blues/Jazz Recording
"And So Is Love"
Rita Coolidge

Best Compilation Recording
"The Collection"

Debut Artist of the Year
"World Peace"

Best Female Artist
Pura Fe'
"Follow Your Heart's Desire"

Best Folk/Country Recording
"Native Americana"
Keith Secola

Flutist of the Year
Joseph Fire Crow
"Red Beads"

Gospel /Christian/Inspirational Recording
"I'll Run To You"

Group of the Year

Best Historical Recording
"The Soundtrack of a People"
Various Artists

Best Instrumental Recording
"Arvel Bird Live"
Arvel Bird

Best Male Artist
Wade Fernandez
"Song of the Black Wolf"

Best New Age Recording
"Time For Truth"
Douglas Blue Feather

Best Pop/Rock Recording
"Mother Earth"
Eagle & Hawk

 Best Pow Wow Recording
"Straight Up Northern"
Black Eagle

Best Producer
Stephan Galfas & Alex Salzman
"American Indian Christmas"

Best R&B/Rap/Hip Hop Recording
"Spirit World"
Buggin Malone

Record of the Year
"Flash Of A Firefly"

Song/Single of the Year
'Sacred Ground'
Bill Miller

Songwriter of the Year
Jim Boyd
"Them Old Guitars"

Best Spoken Word Recording
"The Keepers of the Earth"
Red Feather Woman

Best Traditional Recording
"Way of Life"
Lakota Thunder

Best Short or Long Form Video
"In This World"
Medicine Dream

Best World Music Recording
"People Of Peace"
R. Carlos Nakai Quartet

Native Heart
John Densmore
"Native Americana"

Humanitarian Award
Harold Owens

Lifetime Achievement
Tiger Tiger

Hall Of Fame
Link Wray