Print this Page

World News

Miles Davis

Jazz Journalists Association's Tenth Annual Jazz Awards Celebrates Excellence in Musicianship and Journalism with Final Nominees
Published May 1, 2006

Global Rhythm Managing Editor Phil Freeman is among the nominees, for his book Running The Voodoo Down: The Electric Music Of Miles Davis.

Roy Haynes, Andrew Hill, Lee Konitz, Marian McPartland and Paul Motian--"Lifetime Achievement" Nominees;
Dave Douglas, Hill, Joe Lovano, Motian, Sonny Rollins and Ken Vandermark--Nominees for "Musician of the Year"

New York -- The Jazz Journalists Association announces the finalists ballot for its 10th annual Jazz Awards (sm), with the 20-year old professional organization nominating more than 200 jazz musicians, recordings, labels, producers, concert presenters, authors, broadcasters, photographers and new media outlets for recognition of achievements in 2005-2006. Winners of the awards, to be voted on by the international JJA's approximately 400 professional members, will be announced at a gala supper party, open to the public, on Monday, June 19, from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. at B. B. King's Blues Club and Grill, 237 W. 42nd Street, in New York City.

The Jazz Awards are presented in 41 categories, including Lifetime Achievement in Jazz and in Jazz Journalism, and also honor Jazz advocates, activists, altruists, aiders and abettors in an "A Team" selected by an executive committee of the JJA's freelance writers, photographers, broadcasters, educators and website creators. All nominees are invited guests at the party at B.B. King's, a fundraiser supporting the non-profit JJA's education, audience-outreach and professional mentoring initiatives.

Mack Avenue Records is the first sponsor to commit support of the 10th Annual Jazz Awards. Coincidentally, Gretchen Valade, Mack Avenue's founder and underwriter of the Detroit Jazz Festival, has been named to the "A Team," along with Bill McFarlin (International Association for Jazz Education), Dolly McLean (co-director with her late husband Jackie McLean of the Hartford, CT Artists Collective), Michael Cosgrove (Louis Armstrong House), Phoebe Jacobs (Louis Armstrong Foundation), Jonathan Rose (former board member for Jazz at Lincoln Center), Sheldon Meyer (editor emeritus of Oxford University Press), Sandra and Ben Jaffe (respectively, founder and current co-director of the Preservation Hall Band) and Ann Ward, director of Chicago's AACM School. Ms. Valade, who will not be in attendance at the Jazz Awards in New York, will receive her award at the Detroit International Jazz Festival on Labor Day.

Tax-deductible tickets cost $200 ($75 for members of the JJA), and are available for credit card purchase via secure server online at

Further information on the 10th annual Jazz Awards is posted at website of the JJA, and available from Howard Mandel, JJA president,

Here are the nominees for the JJA Jazz Awards 2006:

Finalist nominees based on cumulative votes of professional members, Jazz Journalists Association.

(Listed in alphabetical order, by last name)

1. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
Roy Haynes
Andrew Hill
Lee Konitz
Marian McPartland
Paul Motian

2. Musician of the Year
Dave Douglas
Andrew Hill
Joe Lovano
Paul Motian
Sonny Rollins
Ken Vandermark

3. Up & Coming Musician of the Year
Anat Cohen
Eldar Djangirov
Robert Glasper
John Hol