Print this Page

World News

Blues Great Keb' Mo' to Release New Album, Suitcase, on June 13th
Published March 13, 2006

Produced by Keb' Mo' and longtime collaborator John Porter, Suitcase is Keb' Mo's first album of original music since 2004's Grammy winning release, Keep It Simple.

Epic/RED has announced a June 13th release date for SUITCASE, the highly anticipated eighth studio album from three-time Grammy winning artist Keb' Mo'. Produced by Keb' Mo' and longtime collaborator John Porter (B.B. King, Los Lonely Boys, Santana) and recorded at the legendary Shangri La Studios (The Band, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton) in Malibu, CA, SUITCASE is Keb's first album of original music since 2004's Grammy winning release, Keep It Simple.

"The creative process involved with the making of this record has been a deeply rewarding experience," says Keb' Mo'. "Everything from the songwriting sessions to re-connecting with John Porter has been a wonderful journey. The music on this record represents life happening in all of its shades and shapes. I hope that spirit is conveyed to the listener."

The award-winning songwriter, guitarist and blues icon will preview select songs from the album during an April 28th show at the New Orleans Jazz Fest. He'll follow with a nationwide tour this summer and fall with Bonnie Raitt beginning June 20th at Chastain Amphitheatre in Atlanta. 

The recording of SUITCASE amplifies a flurry of activity for Keb' Mo', who also has a host of film and TV projects in the works. He makes a cameo appearance in the upcoming Sony Pictures drama All The King's Men starring Sean Penn, Jude Law and James Gandolfini, and also appears on the T-Bone Burnett-produced soundtrack. Keb' also contributed music to the upcoming Robin Williams comedy RV, a project that saw him collaborating with Oscar-nominated composer James Newton Howard, and is providing music for the ABC-TV comedy "Freddie," starring Freddie Prinze Jr.

Earlier this year, Keb' received a Grammy nomination for "Best Country Song" for his co-songwriter contribution to the Dixie Chicks hit, "I Hope."
Born Kevin Moore, Keb' Mo' grew up in Compton, South Central Los Angeles. In 1994, he released Keb' Mo', an album that prompted immediate critical praise, followed two years later by the Grammy winning Just Like You. In ‘98, Slow Down, his second Grammy-winner, confirmed his arrival as a fresh voice inspired by a classic idiom. He hit triple-Grammy status in 2004 with the much-lauded Keep It Simple. 

The full track listing for SUITCASE is as follows:

"Remain Silent"
"The Itch"
"Whole Nutha' Thang"
"I See Love"
"Still There For Me"
"Life Is Beautiful"
"Your Love"
"Making Do"
"I'll Be Your Water"