Print this Page

World News

Lila Downs

New NPR CD Compilation Features a Variety of World Music Artists
Published September 19, 2005

One World Many Voices volume features global artists and new, unusual or classic performances. Lila Downs, Caetan Veloso, Miriam Makeba and Tinariwen are among the featured artists.

WASHINGTON–NPR (National Public Radio) is launching the sixth volume of the popular collection I Heard It On NPR on September 27, titled One World Many Voices.

Previous I heard It On NPR CDs have creatively covered the breadth of popular music: the debut release featured jazz legends and newcomers, and subsequent editions explored unique American music genres, world music, blues and singer/songwriters performing in NPR’s Studio 4A.  “This sixth CD returns to the global music theme but this time, also takes listeners on a journey through the local history and events that influenced the artists we’re showcasing,” said Barbara Sopato, E-Commerce Manager, NPR.

One World Many Voices” includes 13 songs from such globally-diverse artists as Emeline Michel, GreenJolly, Miriam Makeba and Patti Smith. The CD series is produced in partnership with Daedalus Books and Music and Boss Sounds. 

Links to NPR’s on-air coverage of each musician featured on the new CD as well as translations of the lyrics for each song can be found at starting September 27.    

The track list of “I heard it on NPR: One World Many Voices” is:

  1. Souad Massi “Deb”
  2. Tinariwen “Oualahila Ar Tesninam
  3. Emeline Michel “Bèl Kongo (Beautiful Congo)”
  4. Eva Cassidy “People Get Ready
  5. The Melodians “Rivers Of Babylon
  6. Miriam Makeba “The Retreat Song”
  7. Caetano Veloso “13 de Maio
  8. Lila Downs “Dignificada”
  9. Sweet Honey in the Rock "Sitting on Top of the World"
  10. Patti Smith “Jubilee”
  11. GreenJolly “Razom Nas Bahato”
  12. Warsaw Village Band “Cranes”
  13. Rosanne Cash “Save the Country”